Skip to main content

Workflows

A workflow is a series of ordered steps that content must go through to be quality-checked and approved before being published to the live website. Having multiple checks by multiple people ensures that content is accurate and presented in a professional, consistent manner.

When a page is ready to be submitted for review, the workflow process is initiated. Once a page is in the workflow process, no further edits can be made on the page—the page will be locked from further edits. This ensures multiple edits on the same page cannot be submitted simultaneously. 

Workflow steps



How to

  • Initiate a workflow if you are a CONTRIBUTOR
    1. Submit your page edits to the workflow.
       Submit edits to workflow screenshot

    2. The workflow initiation screen will appear
      Workflow Initiation screenshot
      The Workflow Name should not be altered – it will automatically be populated with the assigned workflow and the name of the page.

    3. Comments should be entered so that the next person viewing the page knows what and where the changes are.

      For example:
      If a new page is being created, enter New page.
      If a page is being edited, enter something like Added registration instructions after the second paragraph.

    4. A Due Date can be entered, but keep in mind that this does not necessarily mean that the workflow will be completed by this date. If a page needs to be published by a specified date, please contact the website publisher directly (usually the Communications and Marketing Communications Officers).
    5. Submit the workflow. Email notifications will be sent to all approvers who are members of your websites approver group. The workflow is now with your website’s approver group and is waiting for ownership. Any approver for your website can now edit and approve the page by taking ownership of the workflow (assigning it to themselves). 
  • Initiate a workflow if you are an APPROVER
    1. Submit your page edits to the workflow. Submit page edits to workflow

    2. The workflow initiation screen will appear Workflow initiation screen
      The Workflow Name should not be altered – it will automatically be populated with the assigned workflow and the name of the page.

    3. Comments should be entered so that the next person viewing the page knows what and where the changes are.
      For example:
      If a new page is being created, enter New page.
      If a page is being edited, enter something like Added registration instructions after the second paragraph.

    4. A Due Date can be entered, but keep in mind that this does not necessarily mean that the workflow will be completed by this date. If a page needs to be published by a specified date, please contact the website publisher directly (usually the Communications and Marketing Communications Officers).

    5. Submit the workflow. Email notifications will be sent to all approvers who are members of your website’s approver group. The workflow is now with your website’s approver group and is waiting for ownership. Any approver for your website can now edit and approve the page by taking ownership of the workflow (assigning it to themselves).

    6. Because you created the page and initiated the workflow, it makes sense for you to own and approve your own page. However, you can let a fellow approver review and approve the content as well. To assign the workflow to yourself, select the Assign to me link, available on the workflow screen or on the page View screen.
      Assign to me screenshot

    7. Select Edit to make further edits or select Approve edits to accept the content and continue the workflow process.
      Approve Edits screenshot

    8. Enter a Comment if further edits were made, otherwise Submit the workflow. Enter a comment or Submit workflow screenshot

    9. Email notifications will be sent to all publishers who are members of your website’s publisher group. The workflow is now with your website’s publisher group and is waiting for ownership. Any publisher for your website can now edit and approve the page by taking ownership of the workflow (assigning it to themselves). 
  • Approve, edit, or reject a workflow if you are an APPROVER or PUBLISHER

    If you receive an email notification about a workflow, you can select the link to the workflow from the email.  workflow email link

    You can also check the list of pending workflows by going to the website in the CMS, then select Home from the main navigation bar. Select Workflows from the secondary navigation bar.  Workflows from Secondary Navigation screenshot

     

    1. If a fellow approver or publisher has not already taken ownership of the workflow, you can take ownership of the workflow by selecting the Assign to me link, available on the workflow screen or on the page View screen. 
      Assign to me link screenshot

    2. Select Edit to make further edits or select Approve edits to accept the content and continue the workflow process.  Select Edit or Approve Edits Screenshot

    3. Enter a Comment if further edits were made, otherwise Submit the workflow.
      Enter a Comment Screenshot
  • Check what step a workflow is in

    If you initiated a workflow, you can check to see where the workflow is (what step it is at) by going to the workflow screen for the page.

      1. Navigate to the workflow screen from the list of workflows:
        1. Go to the website in the CMS, then select Home from the main navigation bar.
        2. Select Workflows from the secondary navigation bar.
           Workflow Secondary navigation screenshot


        3. Select the applicable workflow.  
          Select the applicable workflow screenshot


          OR

      2. Navigate to the workflow screen from the edited page:
        1. Browse to and select the page you edited in the CMS sidebar.
        2. Select the workflow link underneath the page View tab 
          Select workflow link screenshot

    1. Look for the circled green checkmark—this shows who owns the workflow.  
      Green Checkmark screenshot


      If the Assignment item indicates a generic approver group name, such as Your Department – Approver then the workflow is still waiting for ownership by an approver group member. Either contact an approver for your website (if you are a contributor) or assign the workflow to yourself (if you an approver). If the Assignment item indicates a specific user, then the workflow is being reviewed by that individual. 

      If the Assignment item indicates a generic publisher group name, such as workflow-publisher, then the workflow is waiting ownership by a publisher group member. Either contact the publisher for your website (if you are a contributor or approver) or assign the workflow to yourself (if you are a publisher). If the Assignment item indicates a specific user, then the workflow is being reviewed by that individual.


    How to


University of Ontario Institute of Technology logo